The Michael Elliott Award for Excellence in African Storytelling

Opportunity type: Award

For: Journalists

Deadline: 31/01/24

Rewards: $5,000 cash prize + award certificate + internship at The Economist

Location Eligibility: Africa

About this opportunity

The International Center for Journalists (ICFJ), the ONE Campaign, and the Elliott family are happy to announce a call for entries for the Michael Elliott Award for Excellence in African Storytelling.

The award honors up-and-coming journalists in Africa who strive to strengthen people’s voices and illuminate the transformational change taking place on the continent. The award entries must represent groundbreaking journalistic work published between December 1, 2022, and December 1, 2023. Winners will be selected on the quality of their articles and the impact their work has had on communities. We welcome excellent submissions in all media, especially those that demonstrate analytical skills in addition to outstanding writing ability.


The winners will receive a $5,000 cash prize and a personalized award certificate. The winners will have an extraordinary opportunity to spend two weeks at The Economist headquarters in London.


  • The contest is open to English-speaking journalists working in Africa for print, broadcast, and online news media. Applicants must have no more than 10 years of journalism experience.
  • Applicants must submit one published piece that exemplifies Africa through thoughtful reporting and excellent storytelling. We are looking for impactful investigative or explanatory pieces, especially those illuminating transformational change in Africa.
  • A copy of the published story or broadcast clip must be submitted in English. Works in other languages must include English translations. We welcome submissions from print, broadcast, or digital journalists. Multimedia submissions may include web, audio, video, visual, or mixed media.
  • The submitted story must be published between December 1, 2022, and December 1, 2023.

Entry Fee

Free to enter.

How to Apply

Apply using the link:

All questions regarding this opportunity should be sent to Sher Khashimov, Program Director: or Emma Kerr, Program Assistant:


Jan 31 2024

More Info

Apply Here


Cash Reward,
No Entry Fee



Leave Your Comment