Commonwealth Short Story Prize

Opportunity type: Prize

For: Writers

Deadline: 01/11/23

Rewards: Up to £5,000  + publishing

Location Eligibility: Commonwealth Countries

About this opportunity

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize is for the best piece of short fiction between 2,000 and 5,000 words. It is open to any writer who is a citizen of a Commonwealth country.


The international judging panel will select a shortlist of around twenty stories, from which five regional winners are chosen. One of the regional winners is then selected as the overall winner, who receives £5,000. The regional winners will receive £2,500. All five regional winning stories will be published on Granta.


18 years or older.

.Entry Fee


How to Apply

Apply using the link:

All questions regarding this prize should be sent to


Nov 01 2023

More Info

Read More


Cash Reward,
No Entry Fee


Commonwealth Countries
Read More

Leave Your Comment