African Photobook of the Year 2024

Opportunity type: Award

For:  Photographers

Deadline: 01/06/24

Rewards: Up to $12,500

Location Eligibility: Africa

About this opportunity

The Eiger Foundation African Photobook of the Year Awards is an annual prize offered to the best photographic publication by a photographer from, or working in, Africa.

Initiated by the Eiger Foundation in September 2021, the Eiger Foundation African Photobook of the Year Awards honors the photobook’s role in shaping the narrative of photography, with a special emphasis on the African continent.

The prize will apply to a book published between January 1, 2022 and June 1, 2024.


  • A $12,500 prize will be awarded to the photographer(s)/artist(s) whose finished, publicly available photobook is judged to be the best of the year.
    A list of books will be selected for the shortlist, presented on the EIGER FOUNDATION website accompanied by the jury’s comments. The three runner-ups of the shortlisted photographers will receive a prize of $2,500 each.


  • Books must be by an African photographer or a publisher established on the African continent.
  • Books on an African theme by non-African photographers or non-African publishers are also admitted.
  • Exhibition catalogues or museum publications, as well as text-only publications, are not eligible.
  • The book may comprise photographs of any genre or topic.
  • The book must be produced in physical form.
  • Books must be produced or published between January 1, 2022, and June 1, 2024.

Entry Fee


How to Apply

Apply using the link: African Photobook of the Year Awards.

All questions regarding this award should be sent to


Jun 01 2024

More Info

Apply Here


Cash Reward,
No Entry Fee


Apply Here

Leave Your Comment